Freight Advisory Committee

The Rhode Island Freight Advisory Committee advises the Rhode Island State Planning Council and the Transportation Advisory Committee on freight and goods movement priorities, issues, projects, and funding needs that utilize Rhode Island’s roadways, rail facilities, airports, marine ports, and pipelines.  The committee provides a forum for regional freight stakeholders to discuss strategies to aid in the efficient movement of freight and increase the collaboration between the public and private sector. This committee assists in the implementation of the State of Rhode Island Freight and Good Movement Plan 2022 as well as advises on evolving issues touching freight transportation planning such as goods and materials costs, fuel costs, regulatory constraints and incentives, and industry trends. Currently, the committee is expected to:

  • Advise the Transportation Advisory Committee and the State Planning Council on freight-related priorities, issues, projects, and funding needs
  • Serve as a forum for discussion for State transportation decisions affecting freight mobility
  • Promote the sharing of information between the private and public sectors on freight issues
  • Provide input on regional transportation policies that impact freight movements
  • Help prioritize freight-related transportation infrastructure investment that is overseen by the MPO
  • Aid in the MPO’s efforts to improve public recognition of freight’s importance in the regional economy
  • Improve regional coordination to address problems of shared interest

Freight Committee Members

  • Allison Archambault, Department of Environmental Management
  • Linsey Callaghan, Division of Statewide Planning
  • Hunter Charles, Genesee & Wyoming Railroad Services, Providence & Worcester
  • Dan Cusumano, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration
  • David Everett, City of Providence
  • Brendan Fogarty, Department of Transportation
  • Tom Kravitz, City of Warwick
  • Nicole Lafontaine, Town of North Kingstown
  • Gina Lindell, State Police
  • Chris Maxwell, Trucking Association
  • Josh O’Neill, Division of Statewide Planning
  • Carlos Padilla, Federal Highway Administration
  • Dan Porter, Airport Corporation
  • Joseph Riccio, Quonset Development Corporation
  • Nessa Richman, Rhode Island Food Policy Council
  • Mike Walker, Commerce Corporation
  • Elizabeth Robson, JF Moran/Johnson & Wales University
  • Joe Rotella, Resource Recovery Corporation
  • Dara Schniederjans, University of Rhode Island
  • Chelsea Siefert, Quonset Development Corporation
  • Chris Waterson, Waterson Terminal Services / ProvPort
  • Christine Willett, Emergency Management Agency

The FAC will meet on a quarterly basis or more frequently if needed.

O'Neill, Josh
Supervising Planner, AICP

Phone: (401) 222-4849