Transportation Advisory Committee

The Transportation Advisory Committee (TAC) advises the State Planning Council on transportation planning and encourages public involvement in the process. The TAC reviews and provides input into the transportation planning documents that are the responsibility of the State Planning Council, notably the Long-Range Transportation Plan and State Transportation Improvement Program (STIP).

The Council established the TAC and other transportation planning and public involvement procedures by rule in 1994. The process has been found to meet the requirements of federal law and is subject to continuing review by the U.S. Department of Transportation.

The membership includes local officials, state agencies, organizations representing a variety of transportation interests, citizens from different areas of the state, and the Narragansett Indian Tribe.

Transportation Advisory Committee Members

  • Michael Walker, Chair, RI Commerce Corporation
  • John Flaherty, Vice Chair, Grow Smart RI
  • Mason Perrone, Secretary, RI Division of Statewide Planning
  • Karen Capaldi, Equality Construction Works
  • Michael Cassidy, Public Member
  • Pamela Cotter, RI Department of Transportation
  • Bari Freeman, Bike Newport
  • David Freeman, PE, ACEC of Rhode Island
  • Bruce Iannuccillo, RP Iannuccillo & Sons
  • Sarah Ingle, RI Public Transit Authority
  • Steven King, P.E., Quonset Development Corporation
  • Jess Lance, City of Providence - Department of Planning & Development
  • Alicia Lehrer, Woonasquatucket River Watershed Council
  • James Moran, City of East Providence
  • Nikolas Persson, RI Airport Corporation
  • Lori Caron Silveira, RI Turnpike and Bridge Authority
  • Mike Simoli, RI Department of Health
  • Karen Slattery, RI Department of Environmental Management
  • Dinalyn Spears, Narragansett Indian Tribe
  • Chris Waterson, Waterson Terminal Services, LLC
  • Denyse Wilhelm, Governor’s Commission on Disabilities
  • Michael Wood, RI League of Cities and Towns / Town of Burrillville

For more information about the Transportation Advisory Committee, please review the 2022 Transportation Advisory Committee Member Handbook. For additional information including meeting schedule, agendas, and minutes, please visit the Rhode Island Secretary of State's website.

Mason Perrone
Assistant Chief Transportation

Phone: (401) 222-7966